Presenting my first Theme Choice!

This is my first Theme Choice, a tall wheel-thrown cylinder measuring 3 1/2" tall by 3" wide. It is mildly lopsided, with an uneven rim marred by two shallow cracks and a narrowed base that flares out slightly into a short, wide-based footring. The glaze is Shadow Green with thicker, darker drips and splotches on the outer surface that bleed onto the footring, while the inside fades quickly from thin and pale at the rim to thick and almost black in the bottom.
The light-dark contrast on the outside prompts a closer look, while the transition from pale to dark accentuates the inner depth of the piece.

I hope to get some good use out of this guy. The mouth's too uneven to cover for tea, but oh well. Next time I'll make sure it's even, AND that I add a handle before bisquing >.>

Pictures to come once I find my iPod.



Leave a Reply.